Ask The Experts

LACP Question

lando1234

I am a network engineer who is working with a team who manages a NetApp FAS8200 that is connected to my network with a 4 port interface group with LACP (e0e,e0f,e0g,e0h).  We're having an issue where VMs disconnect from storage for 30-60 seconds when we unplug 2 of the four links from the Interface group.  During this time, we only drop one (or zero) pings between the VMWare host and the NetApp - so the network seems fine overall.

The one thing I noticed from the network side is that I'm being sent two different system IDs from the NetApp.  On two links, I'm getting 00:00:00:00:00:00.  On the other two links, I'm seeing a normal looking MAC/SystemID that matches on those interfaces.

Obviously this is configured incorrectly on the NetApp side.  Every other port-channel/aggregated-ethernet bundle I have on my switches sees the same system ID coming from the remote end on all member interfaces and everything works fine.

Also - what we determined is that we can pull two links with no failure - as long as we pull one from each system-ID.  It's only when we pull both links with the same system-ID that it fails.

This is also tied to a VIF and they can't tell me whether or not it is failing to another node when this happens.

Has anyone else seen something similar?  Could you point me to what I should tell the NetApp admins on our side to look at with their configuration?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

7 REPLIES 7

SpindleNinja

I'm assuming this is config for NFS datastores for VMware?    

It's a pretty straight forward config for LACP groups on ONTAP but lets look at the netapp config.   do you have access or can you get them to send you output from commands? 

Can you post: 

row 0 

net int show 

net port show 

net port ifgrp show  -instance 

"This is also tied to a VIF and they can't tell me whether or not it is failing to another node when this happens."