Data Backup and Recovery

Powershell script runs fine on NetApp 7.3.6P1 filer, but not on 8.x filers (all 7-Mode)

JOSH_BRANDON

Hello,

<disclaimer> I am new to PowerShell scripting </disclaimer>

A colleague and I cobbled together a script that attempts to log into one or more NetApp filers, collect information on the sizing of each aggregate, and output the results into a formatted Excel spreadsheet (can be new or existing). We were planning on using this as a way to automate our very high-level capacity reporting, which management has requested be done at the aggregate level. (Let's not get into technical discussions about why this isn't granular and volume/qtree levels would be more appropriate, etc.  That's for another day...)

We have the script running successfully on a test filer that is currently running Data ONTAP 7.3.6P1.  When we attempted to run the script against our "non-test" backup and production filers (Production running 8.1.2P4; backup running 8.0.2P6 and will be upgraded to 8.1.2P4 next week), we are hitting a series of errors (I will provide the script and the error output as attachments to this message). We attempted to work through the errors without success, which led me to believe that there may be a fundamental difference in the way that the NetApp Powershell toolkit handles running scripts on 7.3 filers versus 8.x filers. I did some light research on it, but the answers I read were scattered and didn't quite nail down any suspicions I have about this.

I have configured a test user account on the test filer with the capabilities listed below.  I kept running the script until it errored out, at which point I added the new capability in and saved/re-ran the script.  I did this until the script completed successfully and the output was as I expected.

Name:    testrole

Info: