Data Backup and Recovery

SM-SQL Configuration Sanity Check

dsimeone

Greetings All

I am a NetApp resident engineer currently in a test/POC phase with SM-SQL in a straight VMDK environment (no RDMs) backed by NetApp FC lun datastores, with CDOT 8.3.1. SM-SQL v7.2.1 is installed fine along with SnapDrive underneath (v7.1.3P1). My customer, although enthusiastic about SM-SQL, is adamant that it be configured in the following ways, both in apparant direct conflict with the install guide (let alone how SnapManager has worked for ~20 years like this):

1) He rails at the idea that the subject DB of a given server must be migrated to "other" NetApp disks, when arguably, the DB is already ON NetApp disk, on the VMDK (in the datastore served by the NetApp lun), as is the Logs disk. Says he's certain there was some way to do this "migration in place" even though I see no such alternate doc (and BTW this guy is a former NetApp SE!). His position is mgmt would kill him if he had to migrate every SQL DB in their environment to new disk. For example, source disks are 😧 for DB and G: for logs, destination disks are K: for User DBs, L: for logs and S: for SnapInfo. I think custy expects somehow (in Config Wizard) to map source 😧 with destination 😧 and Source G: with destination G:. Trying this just for grins, for 😧 drive the Wizard immmediately errors out complaining that User DBs cannot be on the same disk as system/master DBs and it would have to fall back to stream-based restores, duh, and so I'm stuck. However, I then hit upon the goofy idea: "Fine, then migrate the system/master DBs to K drive instead!" Then G: to G: and finally SnapInfo to S: So my resulting question is- will this even work and SM-SQL function properly? or some other similar trick? Or am I on crack?