Data Backup and Recovery

SMVI time out errors and quiesce error

jap

Hi guys

I am quite new to the Netapp world, but still very happy for the gear 🙂

We have a metro cluster with 2 FAS 3160 boxes, and on top of that 20 blades running Vmware ESX, and a total of about 220 virtual machines.

We really like the SMVI product, it is very nice to do backups in under 1 hour..

BUT, we havent yet made a complette error-free backup, everyday we se some machines not being backed up becauce of either a "Operation timed out" or a "Creating a quiesced snapshot failed because the create snapshot opreration exceeded the time linit for holding off I/O in the frozen virtual machine"..

Until now we have:

The latest host utils, 5_0R2 on all ESX boxes

The lastest ESX version, update 4, 3.5.0 153875

The latest vmtools on all vm machines

The latest vCenter, 2.5.0 u4

SMVI 1.0.1R1

Set the disk time out reg.key on all the vm's to 120 sec., although I have seen some mention that it should be 190 secs?

(HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Disk)

TimeOut Value 120

We are only using VMFS datastores, and FC.

The strange thing is that the machines that failed last backup probally will succed next time, but then others will fail..

Can anyone please help me with further tips om troubleshooting this, or is this the real world, and I must live with some machines failing?

-tonigh we try to do the backup without the "Vmware consistency snapshot" option enabled..but we would veru much like that feature enabled..

Thanks.

Best regards

Jan Pedersen

5 REPLIES 5

avbohemen

Which Guest OS(es) are you running? I have seen this issue many times on Windows 2003 (all versions, including R2, Standard, Enterprise, etc). Even though you are only using VMDKs, therefore not using SnapDrive, I still recommend you install several Microsoft hotfixes that are required for SnapDrive.