Data Backup and Recovery

SM SQL Plug in SC

gaurabdey

Hello Friends,

Sorry I am asking lot of snap creator questions these days. I am very new to snap creator and without your suggestions it is going to be difficult for me

I have a task to configure SQL backups using SnapCreator. In the SC config file , I see couple of options.

SMSQL_PS_CONF="C:\Program Files\NetApp\SnapManager for SQL Server\smsqlShell.psc1" ----Where do I get this powersheel script from? Do I need to install snap manager for SQL on the windows host housing SQL database and this script will get placed on the path automatically?

SMSQL_BACKUP_OPTIONS=-svr 'SQL'  -d  'SQL\SHAREPOINT', '1', 'WSS_Content' -RetainBackups  7 -lb -bksif -RetainSnapofSnapInfo 8 -trlog  -gen -mgmt standard-----Does this option get automaticaly polulated?

SMSQL_SERVER_NAME=servername-- I guess it is the SQL server name?

SMSQL_32bit=N

Does this above configuration mean that Snap Creator will take a consistent snapshot of the SQL database? For the integration with snapvault, I have protection manager in my environment where I will choose the policy and can associate with the dataset. .for the snapvault rentention , is it ok if I specify the retention in the snapvault config file?

If I wish you have weekly backups and retain 3 weekly snapshots and 15 remote snapshots

NTAP_SNAPSHOT_RETENTIONS=weekly:3

NTAP_SNAPVAULT_RETENTIONS=weekly:15

Many thanks for your help and suggestions

Cheers

Gaurab

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

ktenzer

Where do I get this powersheel script from? Do I need to install snap manager for SQL on the windows host housing SQL database and this script will get placed on the path automatically?

This comes with SnapManager SQL so you just need to check if Path is correct

SMSQL_BACKUP_OPTIONS=-svr 'SQL'  -d  'SQL\SHAREPOINT', '1', 'WSS_Content' -RetainBackups  7 -lb -bksif -RetainSnapofSnapInfo 8 -trlog  -gen -mgmt standard-----Does this option get automaticaly polulated?