Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

OnCommand System Manager 3.1.2 RC2 and Java

densminger

All,

Forgive me, but I am a total newb with Netapp.  I just inherited the responsibility last week after the contractor admin was let go. 

We are using Java 7 update 76 on a Windows 2008 server that is running OnCommand System Manager 3.1.2 RC2.  I've been told by management that we must remove all Java JRE and start using Java SE Development Kit 12 on all servers and workstations.  II am looking for an answer to the following:

a) Will OnCommand run on Java SDK 12?

b) If yes, is it a simple process of removing the old Java in Programs and Features, installing SDK from the Java website, and not having OnCommand freaking out?

c) If SDK won't work, do you know why (so that I can report this)?

d) Is there a OnCommand version that I need to upgrade to in order to run Java SDK?

d) If no, then am I stuck with running versions of Java JRE?  If yes, what is the highest version of Java JRE that can run on 3.1.2 RC2?

Thanks,

Dave 

2 REPLIES 2

Ontapforrum

Hi,

Do you really need host-java-based System Manager ? B'cos since 8.3 onwards system-manager comes bundled with ONTAP software, there is no need for separate installation.

Which means, you could simply point your browser to Cluster_Mgmt IP and you can gain accesss to your NetApp filer.

https://cluster-mgmt-LIF IP

For, example:
ONTAP96::> network interface show -role cluster-mgmt
Logical Status Network Current Current Is
Vserver Interface Admin/Oper Address/Mask Node Port Home
----------- ---------- ---------- ------------------ ------------- ------- ----
ONTAP96
cluster_mgmt up/up 192.168.0.200/24 ONTAP96-01 e0M true

My Custer-mgmt IP: 192.168.0.200

For info:
OnCommand System Manager 3.1.2 RC2 requires : JRE7/8
OnCommand System Manager 3.1.3 requires : JRE8

They will not work with JDK12.