ONTAP Discussions

About assigning aggregates to SVMs

Spelta

Hello all. I hope you can shed some light over this. Disclaimer: I am a newbie. Using Data ONTAP Clustered Mode 8.2.1 (that's the simulator).

If I do assign any aggregate(s) to a SVM, then I can only create volumes for that SVM on those aggregates. Source: https://library.netapp.com/ecmdocs/ECMP1368404/html/GUID-54FA031E-C60D-4AEF-887E-93DBA463211C.html

Quoting the article:

"If the SVM for that volume has aggregates assigned to it, then you can use only one of those assigned aggregates to provide storage to volumes on that SVM"

Moreover.

"This can help you ensure that your SVMs are not sharing physical storage resources inappropriately. This segregation can be important in a multi-tenancy environment, because for some space management configurations, volumes that share the same aggregate can affect each other's access to free space when space is constrained for the aggregate. Aggregate assignment requirements apply to both cluster administrators and SVM administrators"

That is the part I can't get. Suppose that I have SVM1 and SVM2, aggr1 and aggr2.

I do assign aggr2 to SVM2, and I assign no aggregates to SVM1.

Now what happens is, that on SVM I can create FlexVols only on aggr2.

But, on SVM1, I still may create volumes wherever I want. On aggr1, or also on aggr2. To my comprehension, this would defy the purpose of segregation of storage and aggregates. I would think that to protect a SVM volumes to be affected by anything external, I should forbid other SVMs to access the protected SVM aggregates, not the other way around - forbidding the "want-to-protect SVM" to access others' storages?

Many thanks to whomever could clarify this to me.

Very secondarily, is there a way to assign aggregates to SVMs via OnCommand? I was able to do that only via Data ONTAP command line so far. Thanks again.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

radek_kubka

Hi,