ONTAP Discussions

Best Practices for updates such as firmware and OS

defrogger1

Hello, Im a little new to NetApp and want to know what are some of the best practices when it comes to upgrading software and firmware.

Such as what are other admins upgrading and how often?  

We have 2 Controllers

FAS3240

We have 6 Shelves of disks

We recently upgraded from OnTap 8.1.4 7-mode to 8.2.3 7-mode.  We needed to do this becuase of some issues and bug fix's.  This got me wondering how often do other admins upgrade there OS with Netapp.  Is it "if its not broke, dont fix" kind of thing, or are there security concerns that you should try and be on the latest release or close to it.

Also what other things are typically upgraded, there seems to be Shelf Firmware and Disk Firmware.  Is Ontap OS, Shelf and Disk Firmware all i should be concerned about or is there more?  

The next step will be figuring out how to tell what firmware im on and how to upgrade.  Will be looking into that next

Thanks for any opinions

10 REPLIES 10

JGPSHNTAP

We have a very large netapp 7-mode footprint.

We do quarterly firmware (shelf/disk) and we do yearly ontap upgrades unless we bit a bug.

RANJBASSI

I have just had a NetApp consultant in recently and one of the topics was firmware as we are also running on an older version and it hasn't been updated since it was commissioned.

He suggested to use the Upgrade advisor on the NetApp autosupport page ( I believe you need to have active support t use this) and this will compile a report to show you step by step exactly how to proceed with the firmware. I have recently run these reports on our environment and can confirm they are excellent resources and do take a lot of concerns out of the upgrade process.

He did also suggest that we perform disk and shelf/ACP firmware first and then do ONTAP upgrades once these components are done.