ONTAP Discussions

FAS8020 cDOT8.3 and VMware

machinist

Hi all, I'm new to NetApp and have just installed a shiny new FAS8020 (switchless HA) with 3x DS2246 disk shelves Smiley Very Happy

I have been reading through the latest version of the NetApp whitepaper, "VMware vSphere 5 on NetApp Clustered Data ONTAP - Best Practices", but it is not clear to me how to layout my SVMs and LUNs.

We will have all our VMware virtual machines .vmdks (around 20) on the NetApp as our host servers only have an SD card in them to boot ESXi from.

Do I need to create just one SVM, with one volume per virtual machine, and multiple LUNs within the volume for each disk I'll want to create for the virtual machine's O/S??

I hope I'm making sense! Man Embarassed

Any advice greatly appreciated

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

chott

Hi mark,

i'll do my best.

It is a Best Practice to create a Mgmt LIF, as it is used by SW like i.e. SnapDrive to help you manage your SVM and Data in it.

It also let's you seperate networks in case you have a data network (10G or FC) and a mgmt. network. This might come in handy in case you would like to delegate SVM mgmt. to an application owner and don't want him to have full access to you cluster (as you can also manage your SVM through the cluster mgmt lif)

Reasons for not creating a mgmt. lif could be a constrain on IP Adresses or LIFs.

hope that makes sense.

cheers chriz

P.S. if you feel this post is useful, please KUDO or “accept as a solution" so other people may find it faster.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

chott
Hi,
My name is chriz, i'm a principle architect at NetApp. Congratulations for choosing cDOT and the 8020 🙂
Thank you for bringing up that question, i'll make the author aware of the missing clarity.

A single SVM should suffice, SVMs can be used for secure multi tenancy, meaning securely seperating different user groups / customers or applications on a single cluster.