ONTAP Discussions

Fastest way to copy 12TB volume?

CCHDEVOPS

I'm a noob here, so I apologize if break some rules

What we have: We have production database (Oracle) data files (12TB) stored on a single data volume mounted to Oracle RAC database

What we need: Create a physical copy (not FlexClone) of production data files on our stress test data volume

What we will do: mount these files to our stress test database and run stress tests

Question: What would be the fastest way to copy data files from one volume to another?

"Regular" copy process (Linux to Linux) will take a week,

I believe, our engineers tried to use V-Copy in the past without a success (or at least, it was not faster than regular copy).

Is there another way (using some NetApp's features/magic) to copy 12TB data files from "production" volume to "stress test" volume that would take a day or less?

I'm not NetApp expert, but a mortal "Ops" guy, all I can tell about our NetApp version is that it has two FAS3170 head units.

Thank you,

Alex.

6 REPLIES 6

DAVE_WITHERS

Curious as to why would you not want to use a flexclone? Its exactly the same as having the physical copy.  And specifically the point of it is to do the testing you would like.  I think you would find zero differences in your testing between actually doubling your capacity used by copying all of the actual data, versus using a flexclone.

However, if you must do a physical copy, i would recommend doing a snapmirror, then updating a few last times to catch the data up.  There really arent any fast methods for copying 12TB of data.  Snapmirror would give you the most control as far as making sure its up to date.  12TB is going to take a few days anyway you cut it, unless you want to hook up a USB drive and drop the data on there and copy it back onto a new volume.

You could also us NDMPcopy.  If your data is large files it may go quicker, but if its tons of small files, its still going to take a few days.