ONTAP Discussions

Help with MetroCluster

bob212189

Hi Guys

I am quite new to NetApp Filers having previously working on EMC/DELL/3PAR, so the concept of MetaClusters is a new one. I have recently inherited 4 x FAS Filers in two MetaClusters - 2 in a Stretched  MetaCluster and 2 in a Fabric MetaCluster. All are located in the same site, and I am looking to change this setup to a single fabric metacluster utilising 2 x  HA controllers on each site. I was wondering if someone could point me to a document on the implications of doing this? Will all data be lost on all SAN's? Is it possible?

What is the maximum distance for a Fibre Metrocluster? Am I better off converting the metrocluster type to a fibre metrocluster if this is possible on the existing systems?

I have found numerous documents on creating and best practices for MetroCluster, but nothing on destroying and recreating.

Any help is greatly appreciated

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

aborzenkov

Shared switches are supported for selected configurations. Assuming yours is qualified, the actual task is pretty boring. There is no data loss and existing FMC can remain online.

I do not see any advantage (from NetApp side) in doing it. Distance limit is several hundred kilometers to my best knowledge, but there are other considerations as well.

I would not do it if you are new to NetApp - it is not rocket science, but having some experience helps. If possible, try to involve professional services from NetApp or partner.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

aborzenkov

Shared switches are supported for selected configurations. Assuming yours is qualified, the actual task is pretty boring. There is no data loss and existing FMC can remain online.

I do not see any advantage (from NetApp side) in doing it. Distance limit is several hundred kilometers to my best knowledge, but there are other considerations as well.