ONTAP Discussions

I'm not a Linux expert, how do I get dvadmin installed?

sdutton

We have been attempting to instal the data ontap edge product and observed two things:

1) The videos posted do not seem to match the state of the product.  It apparently has to be deployed with a tool called "dvadmin" instead of directly on VMware as shown in the installation video.

2) You have to be a Linux expert to be able to do the installation of the dvadmin tool.  There are a lot of dependencies on all the packages that must be installed and it is not clear whether we have the right packages or not.

Has anyone pulled together a complete set of Linux distribution and RPM packages that can be used to deploy the "dvadmin" Linux instance?

4 REPLIES 4

jgoldsch

Hi Steve,

What Linux distro have you chosen?  We support ...

• openSUSE Linux version 11.1, 64-bit

• Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5.6 or 6.0, 32-bit

Installing dvadmin itself usually isn't the difficult step with regard to dependencies.  The more difficult piece to install is the VMware SDK.  Depending on the Linux distro you are using, I suggest following the exact steps that VMware lays out here:

http://pubs.vmware.com/vsphere-50/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.vmware.perlsdk.install.doc_50%2Fcli_install.3.5.html

After the SDK is installed, you can satisfy the dvadmin dependencies by installing the packages specified in the Data ONTAP Edge Install Guide.

For SuSE, that involves running this command:

sudo zypper install perl-TermReadLine-Gnu perl-MIME-Lite perl-TimeDate perl-URI perl-libwww-perl

For RHEL, the install is less succinct:

Use the following steps to install these modules on Red Hat:

1. The perl-URI and perl-libwww-perl packages are installed as part of RHEL.

2. The perl-TimeDate package can be installed using yum.

3. The remaining packages (perl-Term-ReadLine-Gnu, perl-Net-OpenSSH, perl-IO-Pty, and

perl-MIME-Lite) must be installed from .rpm files - you can locate them using a web service