ONTAP Discussions

Multi-Store used for multiple domains?

qanderson

Ok guys need help on this one... Currently we have "DomainA" with 5000 user accounts and a netapp filer which hosts approx 500 shares... We are splitting by business unit into completely seperate domains... Problem is that people that are going to be moved into "DomainB" are still going to need to access CIFS data on the netapp which is going to remain in "DomainA". There will be no trust between these 2 domains... Will Multi-Store help with this? I've read some documentation that it will help consolidate multiple domains... Sorry, I'm kind of new to netapp administration and not sure if Multi-Store can help or not....  Thanks in Advance!

7 REPLIES 7

paulstringfellow

Yep absolutely is the answer…

Multistore allows you to “virtualise” your filer, so it can have multiple personalities…these can then be run as pretty much full filers in their own right, so can be added to different domains, act as SAN controllers to push out LUNS to servers in different networks or domains…

The idea behind multistore is that is the foundation for secure multi tenancy, so if you are a hoster for example, they look and act as physically separate filers…

So quick answer to your question is yes, Multistore can certainly help with this, just bear in mind the multistore limit on a 2020 is something like 8 from memory and you will need the multistore licence.

scottgelb

I think he wants a single vFiler to be a member of 2 domains though which isn't possible.  qanderson can you clarify?

scottgelb

A MultiStore vFiler is similar to a physical controller in that each vFiler can only be a member of one domain.  The ability to join multiple domains is on a per vFiler basis, for example, where 2 different vFilers can be members of different domains but only 1 domain each.

qanderson