ONTAP Discussions

NetApp 2040 Redundancy

STORAGENOOB

Ok, I am very new to NAS/SAN and especially NetApp.

The company I work for has a 2020, which needed a firmware upgrade (from my understanding), which caused down-time for the 2020.  (This is being retired soon)

So we are going VMWare next year and already have a new 2040 with 2 shelves full of disks, for VMWare storage.

We are purchasing an identical 2040 with 2 shelves full of disk for redundancy. 

My question/statement is: the current 2040 has 2 active controllers. So what are we gaining with the purchase of the second 2040?  I feel I am missing something, but I'm comming in to the project half-way through, and the original project person is not available to clarify the reasoning of this.

I would also like to implment a SQL Cluster, and was looking at a NetApp to fulfill that requirement as well. I can not have any databases perform poorly due to I/O.  So, am I looking at another NetApp (2040) to take on that responsibility?  Its a toss-up if it will be approved, but I need to put number together for next year's budget, and the SQL Cluster could double in price if I need to purchase an additional NetApp?

BTW - I also put in the budget for NetApp training for next year, so hopefully I won't have such basic questions next time.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

scottgelb