ONTAP Discussions

RAID Groups – Aggregates - FlexVols

nsitps1976

Hi

I am new to netapp so apologies if these are basic questions.

With RAID DP you create multiple RAID groups of 14 disks, an aggregates is created on top of these groups and then flexvols are created within this aggregate?

If I wanted to build an array with 100TB usable capacity (an example) would I create many RAID DP groups (max disk 14/16?) with many aggregates (max size 16TB?) then create lots of flexvols within these aggregates then give hosts access to these flexvols?

What is the purpose of the root aggregate and how and when should these be created? # of disks?

Do you need a hot spare per tray or can you have global?

Also, can anyone point me in the direction of good documentation, particularly with respect to RAID, aggregates, flexvols and how they are put together with large arrays

.Many thanks for any help.

12 REPLIES 12

chriskranz

I'll answer a few of your questions...

Yes you have disks, then RAID groups (14 for SATA, 16 for FC by default, this can be tweaked), then aggregates, then volumes, then data (or LUNs, then data).

If you want 100TB usable then yes, you do need to carve it up into seperate FlexVols in order to provide it all. ONTAP 8 introduces 64bit aggregates, so the 16TB cap is raised according to the hardware you use.

The root aggregate is simply whatever aggregate contains vol0, this is the system volume that contains the main OS. If you have a system as large as you are saying, you would seperate out the root aggregate to have its own disks. If you have a smaller system where disk is at a premium (2000 series), it can be within a normal data aggregate.

Remember that dedupe (A-SIS), clones and thin provisioning can allow you to allocate and ddress more storage than you technically have.