ONTAP Discussions

SnapProtect: Protecting SQL/AD/etc.

renedissel

Hi everyone,

I'm new to SnapProtect/CommVault so this may sound like a strange question:

I'm trying to figure out how to consistently protect applications (SQL/Active Directory/Exchange) within virtual servers....

These are servers that have no RAW LUNs, just VMDKs.

For my vCenter server I've created a storage policy and SnapProtect correctly talks to DFM and creates an SnapVault backup.

But when I restore a VM there is no option to restore exchange databases, systemstate or everything else.

There is the option to install the commvault agents in the VM but that has no effect on the vCenter backup.

On the other hand I can't apply a new storage policy to the application agent because it recognizes that its not a NetApp disk (RAW LUN):

Error Code: [32:392] Description: Device passed in for operation is not a NetApp device OR the NetApp filer credentials haven't been entered OR the NetApp filer credential have been entered incorrectly.

Please check if the subclient content is on a NetApp volume/the NetApp filer credentials. : [[\\.\PhysicalDrive1] is not a NetApp device OR the NetApp filer credentials haven't been entered OR the NetApp filer credential have been entered incorrectly.

Please check the subclient content/NetApp filer credentials.] Source: ServerName, Process: VssSwProvider

Is it even possible to do an application aware VMware backup with SnapProtect?

Cheers,

René

4 REPLIES 4

steve1712

Helo René,

there is an option in the "Quiesce Options" Tab on the VmWare Subclient.... "Application aware backup for item based recovery (only available in intellisnap)"...

as i understand this should do application consitent snapshots... so that means for me that it should be possible to restore single items from an vmware snapshot...