ONTAP Discussions

Suggestions for establishing inital snapmirror at remote sites

lanceboon

I've looked around the now site and see that there are a few options for this, what I would like to do is to be able to use an external usb drive and write that volume out to it then ship it to my remote site from what I've read so far lrep can do this??? I am pretty new with this so any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Source and destination files are fas2020's

6 REPLIES 6

satheesh1

lrep tools very good method for establishing sv & qsm relationships. I've used in the past successfully. I'd recommend this approach. But lrep doesn't handle VSM, if you are planning to use, there is way to do using filer shelves.

Lemme know which are you planning to do & how much data to mirror

Satty

lanceboon

What I have so far is several volumes that I would like to get over to our remote site basically whats on those volumes are just vmdk files on several test virtual machines. The biggest volume right now is about 500 gb and we don't have any spare shelves at this point in time either.

satheesh1

If you are planning to use VSM & don't have spare shelves, It's bit tricky, but its possible.

Take 3 or more disks on the remote site & create a RAID 4 aggr of maximum possible capacity.  Create a volume inside that aggr & use it as SM destination. Then ship these disks to your site & add it the Filer. Filer might detect as foreign aggregate, change it appropriately. Then change the /etc/snapmirror.conf on the src & dest accordingly.

Above method is high level ides & leave it to you to figure tiny little steps that are needed to complete

Satty

pascalduk

satheesh1 wrote:

Above method is high level ides & leave it to you to figure tiny little steps that are needed to complete

Just some things to consider.