ONTAP Discussions

Transition to Cluster Mode

MJABER

hello all, 

i have one system that running ontap 8.2 and i am going to upgrade to 8.3 . there are telling me no more upgrade and i have to move to Cluster Data Ontap.

this is my first time to do that and i am preparing to do it soon .

any concern i have to keep in mide or better to say where i can start ?

there is 7 Mode Transition Tool that is used for such purpose .

can any one tell me his experiance using this tools and what do i need to keep in mind while using this tools .

t

6 REPLIES 6

RANJBASSI

As far as I am aware, the transition advisor will show you what features you have now are supported with the cluster data ontap and it will tell you what isn't compatible. 

I am in a similar position as you as we are on 7-mode and at some point would like to move to cDOT however you need to bear in mind that the filers need to be completely formatted with the new OS when moving to it you can not do a non disruptive upgrade from 7-mode to cDOT. There will need to be downtime and if you have data presented you would need to move the data to another storage device before you continue. 

here is a few useful docs to get you started:

https://docs.google.com/viewer?url=http%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.netapp.com%2Ffukiw75442%2Fattachments%2Ffukiw75442%2Ftech-on-tap-articles%2F410%2F1%2F1501to...

http://www.netapp.com/us/media/tr-4052.pdf

MJABER

hi ,

why do i need to move the data to another storage ?

there is no any other way to do such upgrade without moving the data ?

RANJBASSI

moving to cDOT from 7-mode will not allow you to do an in place upgrade due to wiping the 7-mode OS first before you install cDOT. 

Even if you have a HA pair it still not possible to have one controller runnng 7-mode whilst you upgrade the other controller to cDOT.