ONTAP Discussions

Volume's usable space

osp

Hi all,

I am an end-user of Netapp storage.

At my company, my area purchased 432TB of Netapp storage.

Our storage team has taken the disks, and now deployed/installed, and now of the 432TB storage, 37 has been set-aside for spare disks, and 70TB has been reserved for 'Netapp Health'. They say it is industry standard for array health and performance to carve out ~20% to provide capacity for background and OS processes.

This question is coming from me -- an end-user.  I am not a storage expert. I did try to understand this:

https://kb.netapp.com/support/s/article/ka21A0000000gB5QAI/faq-how-is-space-utilization-managed-in-a-data-ontap-san-environment?language=en_US

question please:

20% space reserved for Netapp health, to me, seems like a sizeable chunk of space that unfortunately my area cannot take advantage of as useable space. What is Netapp doing behind the scenes to require this amount of disk? I mean, is this space being used as scratch/temp space, during Netapp compression executions? Or perhaps for Netapp deduplication?  I am simply curious as to the details here. Again I am not a storage expert, I hope you can break it down for me!! 🙂  Thanks all!!

5 REPLIES 5

Jeff_Yao

netapp doesnt take that much of space. i think ur 20% is a general rule of thumb to keep the filer perform well as it's WAFL file system which does need more free space to write "any"where. but of course, you still are able to use that space too. and as now there're so many features about compression etc, 20% doesnt quite apply anymore.

sgrant

Hi, as already mentioned leaving 20% free in the aggregate is a best practice to maintain optimal performance and ensure availability. You can however use this space, it is not reserved. Although, just like any filesystem that comes close to filling, additional work may be required to restore performance once free space becomes available again.