ONTAP Discussions

Volumes too large

lmarincic

So, I am fairly new to NetApp and just found out that the limit for my 6080 cluster

per volume is 16TB.  Does the 16TB mean that a 16TB volume can be deduped, or, does it mean that there can only be 16TB of deduped data per volume?

If it's the latter, will there be any negative effect if I go into each volume and shrink it to a more ideal size?

Should I re-create the volumes from scratch?  It's all VMware and I can migrate the virtual machines to another volume so there is no worry about data loss.

Thanks

10 REPLIES 10

radek_kubka

Hi & welcome to the forums!

What version of ONTAP are you running - 7.3.2? If that the case, your numbers are:

Maximum size of volume with deduplication (TB) = 16

Total data size of volume with deduplication (TB) = 32

(http://now.netapp.com/NOW/knowledge/docs/ontap/rel732/html/ontap/onlinebk/GUID-2FD76C49-08CE-47BA-972D-E0F578DF6575.html)

Hope it helps!

Regards,
Radek

bkoopmans

I may be confused here, but isn't the absolute maximum size for aggregates 16TB in 7.x? Doesn't this mean that the maximum volume size is also 16TB? So what's the deal with that 32TB limit?

radek_kubka

Doesn't this mean that the maximum volume size is also 16TB? So what's the deal with that 32TB limit?

I thought that would be clear by now

Imagine 16TB volume with two identical files, 1TB each. Say you deduped them, all blocks were truly identical, so you are consuming just 1TB of disk space in the volume - having 2TB of 'front-side' (un-deduped) data. If you take it further, you may add another and another identical file and after de-dupe scan you'll still use just 1TB of disk space. After adding the 32nd file you'll hit this 32TB limit, yet there will be still 15TB of free space available in the volume.

I know this is extreme (& rather unrealistic) example, but hopefuly it describes the idea!

Regards,
Radek

anthonyfeigl

If you are NOT running 7.3.2, keep this in mind.

Anthony