ONTAP Discussions

aggr0 - adding disks and creating volume for data

RogerT

Hi,

I am new to Netapp.

We recently bought 2 filers with 12 disks each : FAS2552  - NetApp Release 8.2.3P3 7-Mode

Since the aggr  already took 6 disks (3 for each controller), I am thinking of  simply adding the remaining 6 disks to it and create my data volume there (alongside the root volume).

Is this recommended ?  if not, are there any issues with regard to system stabliity and performance that I need to be aware of ?

thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

JGPSHNTAP

As I stated earlier, with 7-mode, there is no issue on a smaller system with adding disks to root aggr.  It's been a common practice for many years...   For that people that just know cDOT, you cant do it in cdot.  

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

JGPSHNTAP

Man that's an awfully small purchase.. 

What size drives?

And with that # of drives, you want to combine aggr0

RogerT

yes.  the purpose of these 2 systems was only for functional testing.  Actual customer has the higher end systems with much more disk.

the disks on these are 10k 900GB each.

If I do create new aggregate with double parity, then I will only get  2.2 TB out of those 6 remaining disks.

Premkumar

Hello,

As per the Netapps recommendation, not to keep the user data on Root volume aggregate. please keep in mind.

yes you can add the similier type and Size of HDD on aggr0.

Also can get higher capacity of SAS HDD in the market and create the new aggregate for new aggregate and volumes. 

Thanks.

DaemonFF

@RogerT wrote:

We recently bought 2 filers with 12 disks each : FAS2552  - NetApp Release 8.2.3P3 7-Mode

Since the aggr  already took 6 disks (3 for each controller), I am thinking of  simply adding the remaining 6 disks to it and create my data volume there (alongside the root volume).

Is this recommended ?  if not, are there any issues with regard to system stabliity and performance that I need to be aware of ?

Hi, Roger!