ONTAP Discussions

newbie data ontap cluster 8.2

wolfontap99

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Netapp CDOT so excuse me for stupidity. I was go through the elearning for Ontap cluster fundamental ..this morning.
I have few questions that i tried researching but couldnt find an answer ..I am trying my luck here .

1. HA pair still exists in Data ontap cluster meaning .. Storage failover must be configured with partner . Help me understand this ..

Can i have cluster with odd number of nodes i.e cluster of 3 nodes or 5 nodes ?
Does it have to be in even number so that I can have a partner for each node ?
If 3 nodes cluster exist , how is HA paired among them ?

2. Can I use ontap 8.3 to simulate failover ?? I read its not possible in ontap 8.2 or below?? How can i test or configure failove in simulator ?
If you managed to do it .. can you please share procedure ?

3. One last question Smiley Happy

I just need a high level overview of step by step . ( not in details just a task by task ) I see there are many helpful blogs on step by step setting cluster ontap.

1 . Create 2 node cluster
2. Create aggr
3. Create Vserver/SVM
4. Create file or block protocol LIF for connectivity and volumes

Since failover isnt possible on simulator .. I want to know opinion from others who are using simulator to practice ? Please give me list of task that i can try on simulator
I went to try failover .it took me lot of effort to understand its not possible . I am tryin to seek help from pro's who have already used simulator and tested functinalites of cluster ontap

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

bobshouseofcards