ONTAP Discussions

qtree basics - move from flexvol to qtree? SnapVault?

CAJXCAJXCAJX

I am new to qtrees and am struggling to find a safe place to test things. So my questions:

1. If I have a flexvolume named Vol1 that is 80% full, but now need to use qtrees in order to use a newly purchased snapVault, can I create a qtree in Vol1 and then move things into it? In other words, how do I apply the qtree to the items that already exist in Vol1?

2. If I want to use the whole flexvol, Vol1, as a qtree, can I just reference qtree 0 as far as snapVault is concerned?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

scottgelb

If near full and you have snaps you may need to delete snaps to make room.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

aborzenkov

1. You can move data into qtree from host; mount volume and use standard host commands to move files around.

2. Use the syntax /vol/vol-name/- to reference whole volume as SnapVault source. SnapVault destination must be qtee.

scottgelb

/- should skip any qtrees that are in the source volume though and they can replicate separately if any.  From the CLI a full volume can be specified to vault into a target qtree (all volume contents one level deeper in the qtree) and it puts all data in the target qtree with a /vol/volname source but protection manager doesn't support it and all data goes a level deeper (and existing qtrees become subdirectories) so we never recommended it.  It was an NCDA question that we had some debate about with the exam writing I remember a few years ago...since it was cli only supported.

aborzenkov

Thanks for clarification. For some reasons I thought SM and SV behave differently with regard to /vol/volname/- syntax.

CAJXCAJXCAJX

I don't follow here.

Are we saying that it is unsafe/not recommended to use qtree 0 when vaulting? I was going to try to use protection manager, tho licensing hasn't cleared yet.

scottgelb