ONTAP Hardware

Data ontap - deleted root volume, help nedeed

igor_stankovic

hi,

first, i am new to netapp, this is my second implementation, so forgive me for mess-up

Setup environment :

FAS 2020 with 2 controlers, 12 1TB disks

I have configured active-active cluster, everything was nice, but since we had 2 controllers, 2 defaut aggregates, customer was a bit disspointed in total storage space (4 disks lost to raid dp, 4 more for hotspare, so only 4 or maximum 6 disks remain for data).

I tried to do unassign disks from filer2 to filer1, and i succeded, and ofc i also succed in erasing root volume for filler2 . Now filler 2 cannot boot (no root volume)

Only hope is that one disk is in "unowned state" and that disk (0c.00.02) was last disk on filler2.

Is there any way to restore root volume on filer2? Can i use this disk (0c.00.02) somehow? Or at least, can i restore factory defults? Customer is satisfied with storage space, but i am not since they now dont have activ-active, and i am sure problems will occur.

Thanx in advance

3 REPLIES 3

igor_stankovic

Ok, problem solved

I just unassigned 2 disks from 1st filer (so 3 disks unowned total), consoled to filer 2 and booted (ctrl-c) to special options, and from nvram reinstalled data ontap

=================================================

Please choose one of the following:

(1)  Normal boot.
(2)  Boot without /etc/rc.
(3)  Change password.
(4)  Initialize owned disk (1 disk is owned by this filer).
(4a) Same as option 4, but create a flexible root volume.
(5)  Maintenance mode boot.

Selection (1-5)? 4a
The system has 1 disks assigned whereas it needs 3 to boot, will try to assign the required number.
Fri Mar  4 13:33:13 GMT [diskown.changingOwner:info]: changing ownership for disk 0c.00.11 (S/N 9QJ8QL5S) from unowned (ID -1) to  (ID 135115575)
Fri Mar  4 13:33:14 GMT [diskown.changingOwner:info]: changing ownership for disk 0c.00.10 (S/N 9QJ8QL3T) from unowned (ID -1) to  (ID 135115575)