ONTAP Hardware

FAS8020 Network Cabling Requirements

SkyMover

Hello All,

I'm very new to the NetApp product. I've been handed an as yet unconfigured system - a single head FAS8020 with 4 DS4246 enclosures. I'm struggling somewhat to understand what physical network connections are required.  I believe the system I have  is referred to as a 2-node FAS8020 switchless configuration

It has been installed with the following:

1. Node mgmt connection (1 per node) on e0m: I have IP addresses for these

2.10Gb Ethernet on (2 each node) for data on eoc/e0d

3. Nothing on e0f/e0e.

4. Nothing on e0a/e0b

My questions are:

1) For a 2-node FAS8020 Switchless (which is what I believe I have) do I need direct node to node fibre on for the private cluster connect ports e0a/e0b? The FAS8020 quick install guide suggests I do but google searches have also indicated that for a single head FAS8020, you don't as the nodes will communicate via the backplane.

2. Do I need 4 connections for the cluster management on e0e/e0f? Do the cluster management connections need to be on a different network / vlan to the node management connections?

3. How many IP addresses do I need for the cluster management? Id it 1 or does it need i per e0e/e0f port?

I've read the various documents: FAS80xx Express Setup Guide/Network Management Guide several times but I'm still a bit unclear on what is the best way of providing the network connections. I've also searched this forum but didn't find anything that anmswered my questions.

Any advice/guidance much appreciated.

Chris

4 REPLIES 4

aborzenkov

1. 8020 only supports single chassis HA pair (with exception of MetroCluster configuration where you use extra FC-VI adapter), so it communicates over backplane. If you have MetroCluster I strongly suggest to not do it on your own if you are new to NetApp.