ONTAP Hardware

Initial configuration FAS2040

_NETWORX_

Hello,

I am new to NetApp products and recently purchased a FAS2040 with a DS4243. I have two controllers. The FAS2040 has 12 1TB SATA drives and the DS4243 has 24 450GB SAS drives. I have placed the units in my server rack and I am trying to learn NetApp. I have a few questions that I am hoping someone can help with so I can learn how to do this.  My first question is how do I cable the units. Reading through the manuals I came up with the following:

|FAS 2040| (Connect 1 SAS cable to 0d on Controller A)

(Connect 1 SAS cable to 0d on Controller B)

|DS4243 with 4 PSU's|

(Connect the SAS cable from Controller A to the "square" SAS port on the top unit of the DS4243)

(Connect the SAS cable from Controller B to the "square" SAS port on the bottom unit of the DS4243)

Power up the two units and connect with the console cable to start software configuration.

Does that sound correct?  Also where do I connect the cables for ACP? I think the units came with 4 cables that look like ethernet cable but the plugs are metal.

Once I have the unit cabled and powered on I will connect to it using the console cable. Is there a default aggregate or do I need to create one to start?  I would like to carve the SAS drives up into 1TB volumes, but at first just create 2 of those and the rest later as needed. This will be for our VM vSphere 5 environment. As for the SATA drives, this will be used for Windows servers to store data so I would like to carve it up in volumes of 500G-1TB as needed.  From what I have read it appears the NetApp creates the Raid group for you once you define the volume, am I correct? How can I accomplish this correctly and keeping within best practices? 

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

jodey

Personally this is what I would do since this is a 2040 (small config):

1. Controller 1 with all of the SAS drives assigned to it

2. Controller 2 with all the SATA drives assigned to it