ONTAP Hardware

Is there a good starters guide to monitoring

Alec_Keeler

We use a FAS2040 to provide SAN Datastores to our small vcenter network of 3 vSphere 4.1 ESX/ESXi hosts (hosted on HP DL380's), we have the Virtual Storage Console (VSC) installed into vcenter

We have recently (last few weeks) started encountering issues with very high (1000s of ms) disk latency on one of these datastores, causing certain VMs to occasionaly grind to a halt

Is there a good intro anywhere for new users to how to use NetApp tools to help track down the issues, as I have no idea where to start with the massive pile of documentation available

Alec Keeler, Release Engineer

1 REPLY 1

TEGO

Not 100% the answer to your question, but maybe it is helping you a little bit:

(I am not an expert with netapp, but had similar problems in the past, too)

When you use VMWARE, maybe you are using VMWare-snapshot-based backup-software like VEEAM? This was causing high latency in my system when VEEAM made snapshots at times after midnight.

Best thing you can do: if you have a maintenance contract, open a case with Netapp!

If not:

I would check if the times of the latency correlate with backup- or other regular events. Is it around midnight, when deduplication and/or reallocation are running? This adds more work to the filer and disks, too.

I also would check the CPU-load in times of high latency.

Furthermore I would look for b2b-CPs (with the command "sysstat -x -1  " ,  1 is the time in seconds - every second (or every 5, 10, ... seconds if you use another number) you get information about actual CPU-Load and other interesting things).

There is a tool "perfmon" or "perfstat", which is collecting informations, but I guess you will not be able to interpret the resulting file - the netapp support team can do that, if you have a maintenance subsription.