ONTAP Hardware

Managing fan-in/fan-out ratio

tyrone_owen_1

Can anyone give me some tips on how I manage fibre channel fan-in and fan-out ratios please?

Say I have a 100 hosts, each host has two initiator 8Gbps ports connected to a clustered storage array with 8 x 8Gbps FC target ports (total of 16 ports in the cluster) using two switch fabrics for resilience (A and B fabrics). How would I balance the load across each of the target ports? Would I zone so that there is 1 initiator port and 16 target ports, then use MPIO to ensure the balance across portd? Would I just use a sub-set of the target ports? If the latter, how do you ensure you have balanced the hosts across the target ports - do you keep a spreadsheet or something a bit more sophisticated?

Any value you can add outside these questions would be appreciated.

Thanks

12 REPLIES 12

tyrone_owen_1

I'm guessing this must be a dumb question because of the lack of responses. My background is IP storage and I get conflicting information on how best to set up FC initiator to target port ratios which is why I ask the question. I also can't find a definitive in NetApp docs - if someone can find a link I'd appreciate it.

BESTFRIENDQUOTES

The fan-out ratio is the number of hosts connected to a port on a storage-area network array.

Many methods have been used to determine the optimum number of hosts per storage port, but in my experience there are no hard and fast rules. My recommendation would be to assess the throughput of each host you want to connect to a particular port, determine the maximum throughput of that port, and add hosts to the port so that the total throughput of all hosts is slightly higher than the throughput of the port.

It is very important to ensure that comprehensive port utilisation statistics are available to detect any periods when the port is heavily utilised and could be causing a performance bottleneck.

tyrone_owen_1

Thank Mickey.