ONTAP Hardware

What Model is best for this?

Cornish

Would anyone know what systems would take 25 x disks NL-SAS of a capacity 8TB would it be a FAS or a DS shelf?

i have been suggested FAS2750 is this the best?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

SpindleNinja

the FAS27xx is the latest gen of spinning disk FAS systems.   There's two versionss.   2750 and 2720.  The 2750 has 24x 2.5" drive slots and the 2720 has 12x 3.5" drive slots.    

25 is an odd number though.   for 24 ALL NL-SAS  you'll want to look at the FAS2720.    with a DS212. 

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13

SpindleNinja

the FAS27xx is the latest gen of spinning disk FAS systems.   There's two versionss.   2750 and 2720.  The 2750 has 24x 2.5" drive slots and the 2720 has 12x 3.5" drive slots.    

25 is an odd number though.   for 24 ALL NL-SAS  you'll want to look at the FAS2720.    with a DS212. 

Cornish

Okay so i would need both FAS2720 and DS212 how can you put them together?

i am new to this so dont really understand? Like how would it work you put the 8TB drives in both and connect them together?

SpindleNinja

They are connected on the backend using dedicated SAS connections.    Each FAS/AFF  "backend" ports which connect disk shelves via SAS or NVMe  as well as back end networking.    There are also client/host access ports for serving out data on them. 

Check out "Stage 3" on the install diagram.   You'll see how the shelves are connected together.  

https://library.netapp.com/ecm/ecm_download_file/ECMLP2842666

Cornish

thank you so much.

last thing would you know the part number for the 8tb drives to go into the fas and ds u suggested?

you have been so helpful!!

SpindleNinja

All part numbers are in hwu.netapp.com    There's usually one or two different models per.  

But where are you getting the 8TB from?    Just a capacity need?   Keep in mind there is also a spindle count that needs to be factored in depending on the workload. 

Cornish