Microsoft Virtualization Discussions

Some newbie questions on Controllers, Nodes, object types and filtering out nodes

uptimenow

Hi,

I am just getting started with PowerShell in general and the NetApp PowerShell toolkit, and I have a couple of newbie questions.

From my first Powershell scripts, I understand that a Clustered ONTAP cluster is referred to as a "(Nc)Controller" and
the nodes as "(Nc)Node".

Given the following connection to a clustered ONTAP system:

$credentials = get-credential
$controller = Connect-NcController –Name na-test-cl1 -Credential $credentials -https

I am confused why these three actions work:

get-ncclusternode | get-ncdisk
get-ncnode | get-ncdisk
get-ncdisk -Controller $controller

while putting the clustername (without using a variablename) on the commandline like this doesn't work "as I would expect":

get-ncdisk -Controller na-test-cl1

Returns:

get-ncdisk : Incorrect credentials for na-test-cl1.
At line:1 char:1
+ get-ncdisk -Controller na-test-cl1
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : InvalidOperation: (na-test-cl1:NcController) [Get-NcDisk], NaAuthException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : ApiException,DataONTAP.C.PowerShell.SDK.Cmdlets.Disk.GetNcDisk

More specifically, I get from piping the output of get-ncclusternode and get-ncnode to Get-Member that
they return objects of types DataONTAP.C.Types.Cluster.ClusterNodeInfo and DataONTAP.C.Types.System.NodeDetailsInfo respectively.
$controller is of type NetApp.Ontapi.Filer.C.NcController

How/why does get-ncdisk figure out how to return disk information from three different object types, yet it doesn't understand a literal such as na-test-cl1 ?
So the values passed to "-Controller" and "-NodeName" must always be object instances ?

Lastly, I am trying to achieve the following:

I would like to go over a cluster's nodes and create an excel file per HA pair, containing the shelf info and disk info for that HA pair.