Network and Storage Protocols

Changing NFS Export Policy causing outage?

belgianbiscuit

Hi,

I am not a storage engineer so excuse my ignorance.

We had an issue with ESX losing access to its volumes about 5-10 minutes after a change was made to the default export policy for the volumes.
Although I have no exact details of the change it basically involved adding a rule of adding a network range. Not sure of individual settings of rule.
The policy contained specific individual IP addresses refering to ESX NFS Vmkernels. Could the change to the default policy have overwritten something that caused the disconnects?
I was always under the impression that the export permissions were only checked on ESX boot but if that is my assumption is correct then this should not have happened?

Is there something else that could cause NFS to recheck for export (i.e. VSC storage discovery).
The datastores were reconnected upon removing the newly added rule.

Clustered Ontap using SVM for ESX

6 REPLIES 6

parisi

When a change is made to an export policy in clustered Data ONTAP, the export policy access cache is flushed and needs to be re-populated.

If there are issues re-populating the cache, access could be denied in those scenarios. If there are a large number of policies/rules/clients, then repopulating the cache could cause an RPC storm to the cluster management gateway or to name services like DNS and cause a denial of service scenario.

If you were to remove a client from a policy, that client would no longer have access to the export. This is by design.

TR-4067 covers export policies and rules in detail and describes some best practices for exports in cDOT.

http://www.netapp.com/us/media/tr-4067.pdf

Additionally, I am working on a name services best practice guide to cover this.