Network and Storage Protocols

Integrating NetApp with MAC OS X Client

TODOS1997

Hi, I'm relatively new to working with NetApp and in my company we have a mixed environment including Linux, Mac and Windows. We have the windows pc's connected to our NetApp, but now I would like to connect our Mac's to the NetApp and I have been reading on what needs to be done on both sides to get this done. Here is a little background information We have an FAS 270 running Data ONTAP Release 7.2.3P6.  I have a documentation that is from 2006 on how to get the mac's working with the NetApp, but it doesn't really tell me how to configure the NetApp.  Would someone be able to explain or provide some documentation on how I can configure the NetApp so our Mac's will be able to connect to it.  This would be extermelly helpful as we have a lot of users with Mac's that are not able to connect to our NetApp. Please let me know if you need additional information about the NetApp.

Thanks

9 REPLIES 9

neto

Hi All,

This is neto from Brazil

How are you?

You can configure NetApp (CIFS (SMB)) in a windows domain or workgroup and connect using smb from your apple client or configure NetApp (NFS - create a volume and export it) - use filerview or system manager to do it and mount the volume on your apple client (nfs)

All the best

neto

TODOS1997

"You can configure NetApp (CIFS (SMB)) in a windows domain or workgroup and connect using smb from your apple client or configure NetApp (NFS - create a volume and export it) - use filerview or system manager to do it and mount the volume on your apple client (nfs)"