ONTAP Discussions

Deleting existing SAS aggregate and re-create it again.

SABARNADEB

Dear All,

I am new to Netapp Storage. We need to delete the existing SAS aggregate and re-create it from scratch. I want the details steps and/or documents where details steps will be there.

Please find the below basic details of SAS aggregate:-

volume aggr_sas_n1 (2 RAID groups):

group 0: 20 disks

group 1: 20 disks

volume aggr0_n1 (1 RAID group):

group 0: 3 disks

This aggregate is 64-bit version.

Please help...thanks

14 REPLIES 14

aborzenkov

So which aggregate you need to delete?

SABARNADEB

Thanks aborzenkov for your interest.

I want to delete below aggregate and re-create it with same configuration.

volume aggr_sas_n1 (2 RAID groups):

group 0: 20 disks

group 1: 20 disks

Regards,

Sabarna Deb

“skill, will and hill”

JGPSHNTAP

Ok, i'm confused.. Why are you deleting it if you are recreting it with the same configuration?

SABARNADEB

Because we got LUN ID conflict error for two SAS volumes due to some changes on the fly. We decided to delete the aggregate and re-create it.

JGPSHNTAP

What?  I'm still not seeing the entire picture.. You can assign a different lun id

SABARNADEB

Same LUN ID for two SAS volume.

JGPSHNTAP

Dude, your confusing me..  and scaring me in the same time...

But whatever here ya go

aggr offline (aggrname)

aggr destroy (aggrname)

then follow the aggregate create commands.

ericgolan

quick add..

if you delete an aggr you will need to zero the disks before recreating a new one , just remember it will take time ,

better solve that problem you got with that SAS issue than delete something you created correctly

that is if i understood the full picture here

SABARNADEB

Thanks All,

Yesterday night I did. Here is the below steps.

1. Steps of deleting and creation of Aggregate.

1.1 Bring all LUNs offline and delete all LUNs.

1.2 Bring all volumes offline and delete all volumes.