ONTAP Discussions

QOS Best Practices

TMADOCTHOMAS

First some background: we are running OnTAP 9.5P14 on a 4-node AFF8080 cluster. I am moving volumes and shelves over to reduce this down to a 2-node cluster by the end of this month. 

We have never used QOS policies because we've never had a need with a 4 node AFF. Now that we're dropping to 2 nodes, I believe we might potentially need to prevent a few test/dev volumes from dominating the CPU. As a result I am researching the QOS feature in detail for the first time. I am reading the basic documentation in the Documentation Center, however I have not been able to find a best practices guide for this feature. Is there one, and/or can anyone point to a good blog post or other article that provides some recommendations? I am not a performance expert and want to be sure I don't break anything. Would appreciate any recommendations! Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

paul_stejskal

Hi. This is great feedback. I'm one of the senior perf TSEs here in AMER and also have been working to improve our KB site....

I would say talking to the account team is definitely important here too. This is more an architecting question as to how to design/use the storage, and from the Support side we do the problems as we identify them.

A QoS policy is literally set it and see. I would say start with QoS and not worry about minimum throughputs or adaptive QoS just yet. Adaptive QoS has some things depending on ONTAP version (changed behavior in 9.7) as well as it will throttle volumes outside of the policy. Here's a KB on it: https://kb.netapp.com/Advice_and_Troubleshooting/Data_Storage_Software/ONTAP_OS/What_is_Adaptive_QoS_and_how_does_it_work%3F