ONTAP Discussions

Snapshot & SnapMirror/SnapVault

optimus

I'm pretty new to NetApp and I'm creating a new Snapshot policy on my primary cluster (AFF) and SnapMirror/SnapVault relationships on my DR cluster (FAS). Right now we don't have an official RPO/RTO but I need to get something going. Assuming that we have plenty of space available, does this seem good or maybe a bit excessive?

Prod Snapshots
   SSD – 24 hourly, 7 daily, 2 weekly
DR SnapMirror/SnapVault
   SAS – 168 hourly (7 days)
   NL-SAS – 91 daily (13 weeks), 52 weekly (1 year), 36 monthly (3 years)

If I need to recover a file that’s past the prod retention, is it simple to recover if from DR? If so then I think I’ll lower my prod retention.

2 REPLIES 2

Ontapforrum

Hi,

To be honest, there is no perfect RPO/RTO, it may differ from company to company. You have thought of a very sound protection strategy in terms of snapshot retention and I will take it if I have plenty of space.

Only suggestion probably would be around Hourly, which seems excessive to me, again I have no idea about your business, is it 24/7 shop or 9-5 shop, and what's the rate of change of data for different volumes. So, there could be number of questions here. But, in general (our's is:9-5 shop), we keep '10' hourly, from 8am to 6pm every hour on Production, rest all (daily/weekly/monthy) looks fine.

If I need to recover a file that’s past the prod retention, is it simple to recover if from DR? If so then I think I’ll lower my prod retention.
Yes, it's simple (For SAN- You can flexclone and mount it and for NAS - simply mount or use CIFS to use the previous-version to recover.

Thanks

GidonMarcus

Hi,

I think it should looked the other way around. in a identical only-2-copy system, the local should have as many recent snapshots as you can, and the remote should be as frequent replication as possible + any other required sanpshots for retention. as an example: