ONTAP Hardware

Restoring to Factory Defaults

MURRAYCH1

I'm looking to find out what the proper procedure is for resetting a NetApp system to factory defaults.  Here's the story:

(First of all, understand I'm new to NetApp systems so have goofed here)

New NetApp FAS3210 HA system, with a single DS4243 shelf (24 x 300GB SAS).  From the factory it came with the disks auto-assigned (12 to each controller).  As I'm looking to expand this over the next year with more disks (some SAS, some SATA) I made the decision to serve SAS off one controller and SATA off the other.  So, I reassigned the spare disks from Controller B to Controller A, and ended up with 21 disks assigned to Controller A (the other 3 hold the default aggregate for Controller B, that's fine for now).

I expanded Aggr0 using System Manager to use all the remaining disks (leaving 1 hotspare).  It was at this point that I became educated in Raid Groups, and why not to do this through System Manager.  I ended up with an rg0 of 16 disks (the default size) and a second raid group consisting of 4 disks (2 parity, 2 data).  This offends me greatly, and as I have learned there is no easy way to undo this action (especially since I made the choice to expand Aggr0 as opposed to creating a new aggregate).  Chalk it up to inexperience.

There is no data on this system; I would like to figure out how to restore it to the factory defaults somehow.  If that means blowing everything away and reinstalling Data ONTAP, so be it.  I just don't know where to look for the procedures.

Hoping there might be a way to back up the Ontap config and restore it afterwards, but that's not critical. 

Any help would be appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

rorzmcgauze

You will need a serial connection to the box (or SP) then reboot the system. Now keep an eye on the reboot it will look something like this ( fas2040 running 7.3.5.1 incase your interested)

AMI BIOS8 Modular BIOS