Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

Auto-tiering for LUN's? (C-mode)

JACEK_HIRSZTRITT

Hi everyone,

I'm looking for a workflow that would do a simple auto-tiering between aggregates composed of different kinds of disks for LUN's only.

Let's say we have 3 aggregates with these kinds of disks: SATA 7,2k, SAS 10k, SAS 15k.

I'm looking for a script that would do more or less this:

1) collect LUN's usage statistics during the day

after that, at night:

2) take 20% of the most busy LUN's and 'vol move' them to the SAS 15k aggregate / if not already there (I assume the configuration is 1 lun per volume)

3) take the 40% of the least busy LUN's and 'vol move' them to the SATA 7,2k aggregate / if not already there

4) take the rest and 'vol move' them to the SAS 10k aggregate / if not already there

I'm new to WFA and the first question is - is it possible to make such script? If yes - have any of you come accross something like that (not necessarily the same)?

Regards,
Jack

3 REPLIES 3

goodrum

TLDR: This is possible but requires some additional 'components'.

It is possible to do this and not a bad idea.  The first challenge would be to 'identify' the Lun performance criteria and determine the thresholds.  You could use the Performance Advisor datasource to gather this information and since WFA can access that system as a Data source.  This will give you the data needed to make determinations.  Now the next step would be to create appropriate Finders that will determine which Luns fall into the right 'grouping'.  These finders will be used in the appropriate workflows to generate a Repeat Row for the moves.