Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

Conditional SQL with a boolean User Input variable

dkorns

I've been fiddling with this and have come to the conclusion there is a quirk in WFA or something I don't understand (or both). I am not a SQL expert but composed this SQL by referencing similar situations and how problems like this are solved in SQL. I've narrowed down my problem into a simple workflow (attached) that illustrates the problem.

BACKGROUND:

- 7-mode exmaple

- Want to present a list of volumes with checkboxes (will be the list of volumes to potentially create SnapMirrors for)

- Normally want to hide volumes which are already involved in a SnapMirror relationship (as either a source or destination volume)

- Optionally want to expose and show all the volumes regardless if they are in a SM relatonship

- I don't want to create separate UI fields, one for each case, but want to have a UI variable (boolean checkbox preferred) that controls what volumes are presented

I've come up with SQL below to accomplish this. It WORKS perfectly when I 'Test' it inside Designer for that UI field. It supresses volumes that are either source volumes or destination volumes and shows them when it should (i.e.; when I pass a value of 1 anyway)

At first, when I was testing it, I wasn't exactly sure if what I should type for the boolean test parameter would be true/false or 1/0. After experimenting what I found was entering 1 for true and 0 for false works and true or false were not working.  This makes sense from a CompSci 101 perspective and I presume that is the only way to test a boolean this under WFA.

However, I'm hitting two problems: