Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

Connecting directly to WFA Mysql

f_duranti

Hi, it's possible to connect directly to the mysql instance of WFA (also with a user with read only access)?

I ask this because I need to to some filters on the sql tables of WFA and I'm not an sql expert so using some external tools to create and check the query will be really useful (the web interface to create and check the query is not so good).

Thanks

Francesco

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

yaronh

Hi Francesco,

We usually use a third party tool, a MySQL viewer.

There are some good ones (We highly recommend SQLYog (http://www.webyog.com/en/), which is not an expensive solution).

There are some free ones as well, such as Navicat.

Regardless, we don't usually dispense the password for the database as it is a root user.

What we can do is create a read only user that you could use in one of the aforementioned tools

to test your queries. Let us know if that's something you'd like and I can facilitate it.

Regards,

Yaron Haimsohn

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

yaronh

Hi Francesco,

We usually use a third party tool, a MySQL viewer.

There are some good ones (We highly recommend SQLYog (http://www.webyog.com/en/), which is not an expensive solution).

There are some free ones as well, such as Navicat.

Regardless, we don't usually dispense the password for the database as it is a root user.

What we can do is create a read only user that you could use in one of the aforementioned tools

to test your queries. Let us know if that's something you'd like and I can facilitate it.

Regards,

Yaron Haimsohn

f_duranti

I will not need root access but having a read only user will be great just to be able to create some query. The web interface of WFA is great but writing queries directly is not the simplest of the things

Regards

Francesco

hland