Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

DFM host agent events regarding free disk space?

briansr

I am wondering if there is a way for DFM to help me trigger an alarm when a hosts's filesystem (netapp non-thin-provisioned lun) is almost full.  I only seem to be able to set these thresholds on volumes and for a number of reasons I am looking to see this managed at the lun logical object level.

Use case might be something like I have an MSCS cluster with host agents installed on both nodes.  Nodes have netapp luns (space reserved) mapped.  When I failover the snapinfo for one of my snapmanager jobs doesn't clear the old information from my primary node and hence the snapinfo disk fills up after a number of snapshots.  I"m looking for a way to tell that I may have a disk filling which can lead to an application outage.

Under the hostagent alarms I don't see anything related to this.  Only that a host agent has been discovered, path has been discovered, iscsi/fcp service is down, etc...  I also don't see alarms related to luns for space available/full.  the only trigger I can find at all relates to the management station or performance advisor disk maps being full or empty.

I'm assuming I need the host agent involved here since nothing else in the stack has any ownership or understanding of what the lun object contains.

Thanks

2 REPLIES 2

reide

Brian,

Unfortunately, you can't use DFM to alert you when a host agent's file system fills-up. The FSRM feature doesn't specifically capture the file system "percent full" as part of its counters. There are a number of open systems host monitoring utilities that suppy that functionality (Nagios, etc...) and DFM isn't trying to reinvent that wheel.

ONTAP and DFM cannot peek into a LUN and interpret the file system, so they can't tell you how full it is. Only the host O/S that is writing to the LUN knows that fact. So that's why you don't see any events or alarms related to "LUN full".