Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

Hopefully simple PowerShell question

jont

Hi PowerShell Power Users,

I'm working on a new Resize Volume command which will act on all the SnapVault destinations of a volume, as well as the source volume itself. I'm new to PowerShell and am having some problems properly munging my output into a form that can be used by other commands. To wit:

PS C:\DataONTAP PowerShell Toolkit 2.0> $VolumeName = "ngs01_nfs"

This command returns all the destinations I'm interested in resizing:

PS C:\DataONTAP PowerShell Toolkit 2.0> $svDestinations = Get-NaSnapvaultPriDestinations | Where-Object{$_.SourcePath -match "/vol/$VolumeName/"} | Select-Object -Property ChainedDestinations

PS C:\DataONTAP PowerShell Toolkit 2.0> $svDestinations

ChainedDestinations

-------------------

{dedusngs02:/vol/ngs01_nfs_sv/qt1}

The variable returned looks like a string, but it's an object

PS C:\DataONTAP PowerShell Toolkit 2.0> $svDestinations.ChainedDestinations

DestinationPath                                             DestinationSystem

---------------                                             -----------------

/vol/ngs01_nfs_sv/qt1                                       dedusngs02

A Miracle Happens Here (this is where I could use the help!) that extracts the following two variables

$DestSystem = dedusngs02

$DestVolumeName = ngs01_nfs_sv

This is simple in Perl, so since PowerShell is awesome, this must be easy...

and then I can solve my problem and run:

Connect-WFAController -Array $DestSystem

Set-NaVolSize -Name $DestVolumeName -NewSize ($TargetSize + "m") -Controller $DestSystem

Thanks for any tips!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

bdave

Here's the easy way (in PowerShell):

$DestVolumeName = $svDestinations[0].ChainedDestinations[0].DestinationPath

$DestVolumeName = $DestVolumeName.Split("/")[2]

Cheers,

Dave

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

hland

Hi,