Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

Newbie: Configuration of aggregates on my FAS2240

WILLI4567

Hello,

I am new to NetApp and I would like to kindly ask you to give me some hints or recommendations about the initial configuration of aggregates on my System.

I have a FAS2240 and a disk shelf. the Fas has 24x2 TB drives, the disk shelf has 24x1TB drives. I am running Version 8.1 of the Software in 7-Mode.

Since data security is not so much an issue in my case, my goal is to configure maximum space with medium data security. So my idea is to configure the system as follows:

- 1 64 Bit aggregate with all disks in it (23x2TB and 23x1 TB, 48 disks in total), except one spare disk of each type

- 4 RAID4 Groups

- rg0: 18 data disks 2 TB, 1 parity drive

- rg1: 3 data disks 2 TB, 1 parity drive

- rg2: 18 data disks 1 TB, 1 parity drive

- rg3: 3 data disk 1 TB, 1 parity drive

Does this make sense?

Thank you for your help,

Willi

6 REPLIES 6

resqme914

As far as I know, there is no FAS 2440 model.  Is your model a 2240?

You will need at least 3 drives for the second controller.  I would suggest you allocate three of your 1TB drives for the second controller (one raid4 aggr composed of 2x1TB drives and one spare 1TB drive).

Your rgs should be balanced (in number of disks), so 19-4-19-4 is probably not a good idea.  Also, I doubt Ontap will allow a rg size 19 raid4 group.  Personally, to maximize capacity, I would create two aggregates on the primary controller - the first aggr composed of 2 raid4 rgs of 11x2TB drives each (leaves 2 spare 2TB drives in primary controller), second aggr composed of 2 raid4 rgs of 10x1TB drives each (leaves 1 spare 1TB drive in primary controller).  You could also combine all four rgs into one large aggregate, subject to the max aggregate size of your filer model (and use rg size 11, but have only 10 in the 1TB rgs.)