Network and Storage Protocols

When to use security.admin.authentication internal or nsswitch?

InvalidCharacter

I have a question about the use of the “options security.admin.authentication” configuration. In what context is the “internal” option used? If I’m only interested in the use of the passwd for authentication and the nsswitch.conf has the following:

passwd: files      nis     ldap

Doesn’t the “passwd: files” serve the same purpose as the “internal” option? I’m setting up a 8.2.2, 7-mode, filer for SFTP and it appears the common setting for the security.admin.authentication is either “nsswitch” or “nsswitch, internal”. I’m trying to understand the logic since currently I’m functioning in a CIFS and NFS environment under the “internal” option.

thanks

Sorry for the incorrect label, I'm a newbie to this.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

GidonMarcus

internal = useradmin commands (saved internally in a db)

nsswitch.conf look like the following, and defines the order of search for each entity. "Files" refer to a filename in etc with same name as the configuration title.  /etc/hosts for 'hosts:, /etc/passwd to 'passwd:'

filer*> rdfile /etc/nsswitch.conf
#Auto-generated by setup Sat Mar 24 10:02:44 GMT 2012
hosts: files       nis     dns
netgroup: files    nis  ldap
group: files       nis     ldap
shadow: files      nis
filer*>

Gidi Marcus (Linkedin) - Storage and Microsoft technologies consultant - Hydro IT LTD - UK

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

GidonMarcus

HI,

internal means for the users configured with the context of "useradmin" command.

nsswitch refer to all the external (files, name & directory services).

Gidi

Gidi Marcus (Linkedin) - Storage and Microsoft technologies consultant - Hydro IT LTD - UK

InvalidCharacter

Thanks Gidi,