ONTAP Hardware

FAS2240-4 - Changing IP Addresses

sunking

Good afternoon,

I have need to change the IP address of a FAS2240-4 in both production and disaster recovery. The change needs to be made to the storage controllers, shares and replication ports. I believe that most of what I am looking for is contained in the /etc/rc and the /etc/hosts files.

Not really sure where to start or the order of operations as I am very new to NetApp. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Dave

7 REPLIES 7

SeanHatfield

Assuming you are running 7mode since you mention the rc and hosts files, most of the IP related configuration is in those two files.  There are a few other spots you may need to check as well.  

rdfile /etc/resolv.conf - to see if your name servers need to be updated

rdfile /etc/snapmirror.allow - to see if any entries are using IP addresses

options timed.servers - to see if ntp servers need to be updated

options nis.servers - if using NIS

Repeat for each vfiler, if you have vfilers, and don't forget about the SP:

sp setup

If this post resolved your issue, help others by selecting ACCEPT AS SOLUTION or adding a KUDO.

sunking

Sean,

Thank you for the repsone to my question. The array is replicating from a production to a DR site. Were is this IP information kept and what needs to be changed there.

Thank you in advance for your assistance!

Kind regards,
Dave

SeanHatfield

/etc/snapmirror.allow and /etc/hosts are the two to look at for replication purposes on both the source and destination, as well as any other mechanisms used for name resolution in your environment.  

If this post resolved your issue, help others by selecting ACCEPT AS SOLUTION or adding a KUDO.

sunking

Sean,

Thank you for your continued support/information. I really appreicate it.

My apologies but I do have a few addiitonal follow up questions if i could.