Tech ONTAP Articles

Quickly Deliver Applications with Docker Container Technology

Tech_OnTap
pdf-icon.gif

April 2015

author_melissa_palmer_86x86.jpg
Melissa Palmer
Systems Engineer, NetApp

As a NetApp Systems Engineer, I'm always on the lookout for new technologies my customers can take advantage of to accelerate their businesses. In his 2015 technology predictions, NetApp CTO Jay Kidd mentions a new and rapidly growing technology called Docker. "Docker replaces hypervisors as the container of choice for scale-out applications." I couldn't agree more.

My background is in virtualization, and I am active in the virtualization community. I've been a vExpert for two years, and Docker has been on my radar for a while. Last November, I took part in a 30-day blogging challenge (30 blogs in 30 days!) as part of an online virtualization community I help run called Virtual Design Master. I did a number of blogs on Docker during the challenge and since then have continued to focus on the topic, so I was pleased when Tech OnTap asked me to share my thoughts on the subject.

What is Docker?

Many of the current trends in technology focus on the abstraction of infrastructure from hardware. Docker is an open-source platform that takes this a step further by abstracting applications from the server operating systems on which they run. Rather than needing to stand up a virtual machine for each application, Docker runs applications in containers on top of a single operating system instance.

Containers