ONTAP Hardware

Need help on cabling DS4243 onto existing FAS3140

NAMAN

Although I have been working as a storage admin for many years, I have to admit that I'm a noob when it comes to cabling.  I seriously need a help on cabling as I don't have much experience with cabling.  We do have FAS 3140 and 7 * DS4243 attached to it and I have to be able to hot-add 7 additional DS4243.  

I'm attaching a config advisor for your review.  I truly appreciate the community's help in advance.

Thank you so much.

the controllers are running on 8.1.4P3 7-mode 

11 REPLIES 11

YIshikawa
Unfortunately, current cabling does not meet cabling rules described in Universal SAS cabling guide.
Recommended action is to fix current cabing first, but if there are no free SAS ports on each controllers, you need to shutdown filer then recabling it.

If you are to sort this out without fixing cabling, we have to understand how each ports in controller and shelves are cabled exactly. Please attach "sysconfig -a" and "environment status" of each controller.

aborzenkov

Recommended action is to fix current cabing first

Sorry to disagree, but I do not see anything to fix here. While it does not follow cabling guide to the letter, it is redundant and clear. There are enough ports to connect extra shelves.

NAMAN

If I start a new stack, can I still add the new disk to the existing aggr? or new aggr must be created?

YIshikawa
You can add new disks into existing aggregates regardless of physical cabling as far as there are recognized by Data ONTAP.

Following to cabling guide, port of opposite side of stack must be different. But, for example, shelf 5 is cabled to b ports.
I have never heard any issue except cabling alert ASUP by insufficient port selection so far. As wrote above, it works so far, but it may have potential issue. If you have odd issue in storage subsystem, you will be instructed to fixit first by tech support.

JH

This appears to be your config
2b/3b 1 disk shelf