Network and Storage Protocols

How to find a VMs (VMware, or Hyper-V) connected to which LUN. ?

nivas007

Dear all,

I am new to NetApp storage environment, i did not find any proper procedure or instructions to find  VMs belongs to VMware or Hyper-V connected to which LUN, In system manager when I select my desired LUN to find which VMs connected to this LUN i can see three initiator groups and 17 initiators. people are saying we can find connected VMs through these igroups but i have no clue kindly guide me to find vms. my netapp version is 9.1p3.

nivas

12 REPLIES 12

CHRISMAKI

Hi Nivas,

I would start by ensuring you have ActiveIQ Unified Manager installed and configure to communicate with your NetApp Cluster(s) as well as vCenter(s). Once they are connected, it will tie things together so nicely and provide much more visibility into your environment.

I can't speak to the Hyper-V side of things, sorry.

nivas007

Hi CHRISMAKI,

i have not installed ActiveIQ Unified Manager, My NetApp ONTAP version is 9.1P3. I would like to find the things with current configurations, please guide me through igroups, and initiators to find VMs connected to LUN.

starkzhou
You can use lun show -fields serial-hex

nivas007

Dear Starkzhou,

Here -fields serial-hex means initiators number? Please explain more

nivas007

if i use -fields serial-hex command i am getting result as below: 

vserver as svm01 path as /vol/vol1/testnew\archives serail-hex as 2839014143344b334d123622 so how can i use above result to find VMs... Kindly reply

Vijay5

Hi Nivas, Click on the VM from the Vcenter and navigate it to configure-->devicebacking and copy the naa id.

compare it with the lun show -fields serial-hex 

Vijay5
NAA id should be taken from the Vcenter by navigating to VM-->Configure-->device backing.

When you use lun show -serial-hex , the result that comes up will be the lun used for the particular VM.

Regards,
VijayaKumar P

[cid:image001.png@01DA9AEA.6385AA60]

Vijay5