Tech ONTAP Blogs

Introduction to data protection for NetApp ONTAP

ansley_tj
NetApp

Before I begin, I wanted to introduce myself as many may not know me as I am relatively new to the NetApp ONTAP® family. My name is Tony (@storagetechtony on X, StorageTechTony on Discord, and ansley_tj here in the NetApp® Community), and I am what NetApp refers to as a TME, or a Technical Marketing Engineer. My role within NetApp is to act as a customer advocate focusing on one or more NetApp technologies. I see the TME role as a two-sided coin:

• I work with engineering and field technical teams to help bridge the gap between our customers’ requirements and what we create as products for NetApp.
  • I own, develop, and maintain a broad range of outward-bound technical collateral that helps our customers and partners to better understand and utilize ONTAP within their data infrastructure.

My focused area of responsibility is data protection…specifically, I have responsibility for SnapMirror® asynchronous and synchronous and those products that rely on those two technologies such as our data mobility tool (vserver migrate) and some of you may already have received responses from me related to specific questions about SnapMirror functionality.

Introduction

For many of you, NetApp ONTAP® is very familiar. You have been eating, sleeping, and breathing ONTAP data management for years. For others, you may be new to the ONTAP world, so I wanted to start a series of tutorial blogs where I can introduce and discuss various topics related to data protection for ONTAP.

For this first entry, I think a quick overview of data protection with ONTAP might be appropriate and we will review what data protection (DP) is, what options you have for DP solutions within ONTAP, and how to decide which is the right DP solution for your needs. With that, let’s get started!

What is Data Protection?