Tech ONTAP Blogs

NetApp StorageGRID earns Common Criteria security certification


As the use cases and capabilities of object storage continue to grow, security is an ever-increasing concern for object storage administrators. Now, NetApp® StorageGRID® customers can be more confident than ever in the security of their object storage platform: StorageGRID has earned the Common Criteria for Information Technology Security Evaluation certificate!


View the certificate.


StorageGRID is NetApp’s software-defined object storage suite. Our customers regularly deploy StorageGRID to meet complex regulatory and digital safety requirements.


The Common Criteria certification represents rigorous and comprehensive testing and signifies compliance with the Common Criteria’s internationally recognized set of security standards. Common Criteria is a set of technical standards agreed upon by dozens of countries, making it the global standard for technology security. To earn a Common Criteria certification, IT products are assessed to ensure that they meet the strict security requirements for government use. StorageGRID was tested against Evaluation Assurance Level (EAL) 2+ requirements in the following areas:

  • Object Access Control
  • Data Protection
  • Security Management
  • Security Audit
  • Secure Communications

StorageGRID’s Common Criteria evaluation also addressed the following threats:

  • Data corruption
  • Unauthorized admin access
  • Administrative communication or traffic interception
  • System malfunction

Read more in the Common Criteria Certification Report.


StorageGRID is deployed across industries and in vastly different use cases, but every StorageGRID customer is concerned with the durability, availability, and security of their object storage platform. Our Common Criteria certification is an additional reason that storage administrators can be sure that their data platform is safe and secure with StorageGRID.


The StorageGRID Common Criteria certification follows two certifications earned in 2021, NF203 Digital Safe and ISO25051, and compliments our earlier compliant retention qualifications satisfying SEC, FINRA, and CFTC regulations. Read more.


Learn more about NetApp StorageGRID.