Data Backup and Recovery

NetApp single aggregatef or SQL Server is "best practice"

lonewanderer

Hi

I'm new to NetApp technology and in the learning  phase. I have a customer using NetApp as their storage solution for our  SQL Server based OLTP application. The database is in the 1-2 TB range  of which about 90% is LOB data since we store binaries in the database  and not outside. Now the standard installation configuration only has  one filegroup, which means both row data and LOB data is in that  filegroup which only has one file.  I know the customer only has one  NetApp aggregate, according to them its "best practice", and separate  LUNs for OS, SQL Server application, our application database, the  transaction logs and system databases. My first question is regarding  the one aggregate configuration - since the transaction logs and  database files are on the same aggregate they must share the same disks  even though they are on different LUNs? Or does that depend on how the LUNs were created? Would a second aggregate be better for the transaction logs?

I'm also trying to convince the customer that  migrating LOB column data to  its own separate filegroup - with the  files on dedicated disks -  allowing for row data to reside on their own  disks and not be fragmented  by LOB pages would help performance. They  are claiming that this change would not help performance whatsoever due  to their NetApp design. I disagree but I'm not familiar with NetApp  technology so have a hard time arguing with them.

Can someone shed some light on this issue please?

Regards

LW

4 REPLIES 4

thomas_glodde

lw,

it depends slighty on the size of your netapp head and the ammount of disks. Usualy you have a netapp cluster, eg FAS3140A and each head holds a set of disks. then yes, you can have the databases on one head and the log files on the other head.